2012 News

Congratulations Mary Barton, AO

Date: 02nd July

Work Group: ART

Activity Type: Awards

Australian Animal Welfare Advisory Committee member Mary Barton has been awarded an Order of Australia as part of the Queen's Birthday honours.

The award is much-deserved recognition of Mary’s significant contribution to veterinary microbiology, public health and education.

Among her many roles and achievements, Mary is Emeritus Professor of Microbiology in the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences of the University of South Australia; has served as a board member and director of RSPCA SA since 1999; has been a member of the CSIRO Australian Animal Health Laboratory Security Assessment Group (ASAG) since 1990 (and its chair from 1990 to 2002); Science Fellow of the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority (APVMA) since 2009; and a member of the Veterinary Testing Accreditation Advisory Committee of the National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) since 2005.

Mary is also chair of the AAWS Working Group on Animals in Research and Teaching.