header image

Working Groups

Historically, cross-sectoral and sectoral working groups played key role in delivering on the AAWS.

The selection criteria for membership of the AAWS working groups were detailed in a document which can be downloaded here

Three cross-sectoral groups, established for their specific expertise, were put in place to apply the national priorities and strategic goals and objectives at an operational level, identify projects and provide advice on issues.

Cross-sectoral Groups

•             Communications

•             Education and Training

•             Research and Development

Six expert working groups were developed to connect the Strategy and stakeholder networks through discussion forums, the development of action plans and provision of technical advice on the opportunities, impediments and drivers for each sector. 

Each working group had representation from government, industry and sector specialist organisations, as well as animal welfare organisations. They represent the six animal groups defined in the AAWS. The establishment of sectoral working groups improved productivity through increased communication and research.

Each working group developed an action plan for its sector, including the identification and completion of appropriate projects to support AAWS objectives and improve animal welfare outcomes.

The working groups for the six animal groups are as follows:

•             Animals in Research and Teaching

•             Native and Introduced Wildlife

•             Animals Used for Work, Recreation, Entertainment or Display

•             Aquatic Animals Working Group

•             Livestock and Production Animals

•             Pets and Companion Animals

AAWS Working Groups